Deaf World Missions

Taking God’s Word to the Deaf World In Our Generation

Why The Deaf World?

I have had well meaning Christians ask me questions like, “Why do you want to waste your time with the deaf?”

Here is my response to that question and others like it:

1. They need to be saved.

2. They need to have a changed life.

3. They need to grow and mature to become good Christians.

4. They need to learn to share the Gospel with others.

5. They need to have strong families and teach their children to follow God.

6. They need to become godly men and women, teachers, preachers, missionaries.

7. They need hear the Lord say, “Well done, thou good and faithful servant.”

Deaf people can become productive Christians, however they must be taught. They need someone who has a heart dedicated to teaching them.

September 5, 2007 - Posted by | Discipleship, Evangelism, Gospel, Missions

3 Comments »

  1. I can not CAN NOT believe the question!!!! I am floored!
    “waist your time”?!?!?!?!
    Their soul is immortal too, and one deaf would have been enough to send Jesus to the cross . . .they are human after all!!!

    Comment by Michelle in Mx | September 10, 2007 | Reply

    • so this whole thing is ridiculous.
      of course the Deaf are people, are you kidding me? I think this post needs to be reworded, it just makes you sound completely ignorant about the Deaf community

      Comment by Kerry | December 1, 2009 | Reply

  2. Kerry,
    Thank you for taking the time to read our post. I don’t claim to be an expert since I am hearing, but after working with the deaf I think I have some understanding of the deaf community and the Deaf culture. I understand you’re concerns with this post and that is the reason I wrote it, to show how ridiculous the comments were that we received when we began our work with the deaf. Just as those in the hearing world fall into the listed reasons above, the deaf do as well, but there is a lack in those willing to go and teach them. If this post was offending to you, please know that was not the intent in which it was written. God has given me a great burden to reach the Deaf world with the Gospel.

    Comment by Shane Clements | December 1, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

